Recently Wired Magazine spoke about online journals (like this one) being used by spammers to help increase their rating in google when someone does a search. The spammers post so that google will see that "X site is apparently popular or important" so it increases the chance that when someone searches for whatever the site sells, that it will appear at the top of the list.
Using this style of spam, RXPAINRELIEF.NET at 209.68.61.41 has posted ads to my journal. The domain is registered at DOMAINSBYPROXY.COM at 63.241.136.143 which doesn't seem to care about their abuse situation. I've noticed that PAIR.COM is involved and their DNS servers at 209.68.1.61 and 216.92.61.2 are the ones involved. I've since contacted PAIR.COM to see if they will at least respond. The orders are actually processed on RXORDERSYS.COM [1-702-990-3870] which is at 65.59.187.12 and uses the DNS server at 65.59.187.3 (NS1.HACKERJACKS.NET). Of course, Tom is the contact for rxordersys.com, abuse@domainsbyproxy.com people and the customer's address of rxpainrelief@domainsbyproxy.com all have chosen to not respond to my requests to have the domain removed (or to pay the advertised cost to post ads on powertrip.net). The lack of response is the part that probably annoys me the most. It's not that they're working with the customer about the issue or that they don't believe that journal posts are against their AUP, they're flat out ignoring the issue..
The 2 responses I've received so far were:
1) Domains By Proxy mailed me telling me to include the e-mail headers... obviously they've not figured out that this was WEB spam.
2) When I called and spoke to someone at Domains By Proxy they told me to mail abuse at godaddy.com which isn't related in any way to the above as far as I can tell (I did mail them, got 1 automated response, nothing more)
If anyone has any legal ways to deal with this problem, I'm open to ideas.
UPDATE! 9:34am - DOMAINSBYPROXY finally got annoyed with my mails about the abuse and called me back (gee, 1 month of mailing and finally they call - what service!) I've told them I'll wait up to 1 month for contact back about this issue. I did forget to ask on the phone why the hell they forwarded me to godaddy and other addresses and why if they have a "no tollerance, instant removal" of spam policy why it's taken a month... I assume I'll find out soon.
UPDATE! 10:49am - Tom from RX Medical called.. he's since canned the affiliate's account. Not sure why he never got the previous hundred mails about the issue over the last month, however this got his attention. Congrats Tom, took a bit of mail, but good to see that you do run a good show which finally dealt with the problem. Next time try going to the affiliate site to at least see if their "contact us" button works - that would be a hint to show if they're legit or not.